Drumroll please… Kitchen reveal!

It’s finally done! My kitchen transformation is complete and I’m so happy! Check out the before and after:

kitchen reveal collage

Okay, truthfully, it wasn’t ALL paint that made up the transformation.  If you have a keen eye you can tell we got:

  • A new dishwasher
dishwasher

Yeah, we splurged on this.

  • A new fridge
  • A new light fixture
  • New knobs

cabinet detail

  • A new sink and faucet
kitchen17

Deep and wide, oh yeah.

So, all in, our kitchen transformation cost around $3500.  So while that’s not a totally shoestring budget, I’m pretty pleased with it.  Especially considering the TOTAL COST was less than our quote for just the granite countertops.

So, where did we save money?

1. The cabinets

My gorgeous, stylish, two-toned cabinets are not new.  They are the same honey oak cabinets that we got with the house.  We were lucky that they were in fairly good condition (and that they are solid wood all the way through).  For the lower cabinets, the island, and the oven cabinets/pantry I used General Finshes Gel Stain in Brown Mahogany.  You can read about that here.

For the upper cabinets, I painted them white (actually, Glass of Milk by Martha Stewart).  That’s in this blog post.

Those materials ran me around $150, including the primer and the top coat for the stained cabinets.

The knobs I got from Lowe’s, and in total were around $250 (I have a lot of cabinets).

2. The countertops

The countertops are the same laminate countertops that came with the house, I just painted them.  Yes, that’s right, that beautiful glossy finish is paint!  You can read about how I did that here.  Total cost for that project: $350.

kitchen15

Oooh so shiny…

3. The backsplash

The backsplash looks like beadboard, but it’s actually paintable wallpaper that I got at Lowe’s.  It was super easy to measure, cut and install and a little paint and caulk made it look polished and pretty.  I painted it the same color as the upper cabinets, and painted the oak backsplash the same color to match.

photo11

I can’t believe it’s actually done!  I’ve been working on this project, in small chunks (and along with other projects) for about 7 months now.  So yes, if I had a bigger budget and paid someone else to do it, it would have been done a lot sooner.  But that’s okay – for all but about a week of the project (for the countertops to set up) I was still able to use my kitchen.

There’s one area of my new kitchen that’s a little sad, though.

kitchen14

That’s my wine rack.  Trouble is, it always seems to be empty.

Maybe it has something to do with this:

kitchen13

And I tend to do a lot of cooking. =)

Here’s some more pictures of my new kitchen gorgeousness:

kitchen12

kitchen16

Hope you like it, and I hope I inspired you!

11 thoughts on “Drumroll please… Kitchen reveal!

  1. Amanda,
    Your kitchen looks amazing! You inspired me to finally take the plunge! I have one more top coat and I should be done!
    Patty

  2. Pingback: Painting kitchen cabinets | scharlerama

  3. Hi that looks awesome and thank you for the detailed instructions! I was just wondering how the countertops are holding up?

    • Hi Lauren! The countertops are holding up beautifully! We even had an issue where my 4 year old got a hold of a Sharpie and wrote on the countertops. Hubby and I acted fast and with rubbing alcohol, magic erasers, and elbow grease we got it to come off. They are easy to clean and still look great.

  4. Awesome! Good to know because I have a three year old so I can forsee similar incidents happening. I’m definitely going to be giving this a shot pretty soon!

  5. I read your tutorial on the countertops…I’ll be doing mine tomorrow. I’m curious what tools you used as I didn’t really see or read an entire list of them. Thank you! It’s absolutely gorgeous!

    • Hi Stephanie – thanks for your kind words! I suppose I didn’t list out the tools, but I think I mentioned all of them in the tutorial itself. From the top of my head, you’ll need white latex primer, several bottles of craft paint (the kind you get at Michaels in the little bottles), Elmer’s glue, and the topcoat is called EnviroTex Lite. On their website they have a tool that lets you calculate how much you need for your square footage. You’ll also need sea sponges, plastic grocery bags, paper towels, a mini-roller and paint tray for the primer, and a heat gun or a blowtorch for the topcoat. Have fun and good luck!

  6. You did…I just had a brain fart! I am just about done with my counters! I’m on the last two steps: editing, then epoxy….your directions were great, though I did run into some snafus along the way: don’t let the glue dry before you put your paint on, I had to use squirt bottles for that portion as my spongey drizzle was a failure and hot mess, I couldn’t get the hang of the plastic bag so I just used a sponge, and wasn’t too sure about the spray bottle and how much water and paint to use, but I managed. All in all, I love how it has come together, even if my feet and back absolutely hate me for it! Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

